Foundation Day Celebration

Institute of Science, Nirma University celebrated its 19th foundation day on 6th September, 2022. The events were organized for two days. On 5th September 2022, an invited talk was delivered by Dr Asha Multani, who is Associate Professor at M.D. Anderson Cancer Center and also the Co-Director of the MD Anderson Cytogenetics and Cell Authentication Core, USA. She delivered a talk on “Molecular Cytogenetics: Its implications in Biomedical Research”. All the participants were benefited from the information she provided and actively interacted with her.
Various types of students’ activities were organized like Clay art, Photography, and T-Shirt painting. Student volunteers also made a beautiful Rangoli in the Institute’s foyer.
On 6th September 2022, the Foundation Day was celebrated at the NIM auditorium. Prof. Sarat Dalai, Director, Institute of Science welcomed the audience and briefly highlighted the achievements of the Institute. Shri Ashishbhai Desai, Honorable Dean, Student Welfare Board, Nirma University was the chief guest of the function. He congratulated Institute of Science for its progress and also for the overall activities organized for the development of the students. Dr Amit Awasthi, the Professor at THSTI-Faridabad, was the keynote speaker for the program. He delivered speech on “Cellular immune responses in COVID-19”. His talk was very informative and interesting in which he discussed about the importance of T cell responses in conferring protection against SARS-CoV-2. Students actively interacted with him. Dr Tejal Mehta, Director In-Charge, Institute of Pharmacy, presided over the function and congratulated the entire ISNU team for their progress and achievements. She also shared a few memories from the time, both institutes were working together. The journey and accomplishments of the Institute of Science were presented through a PowerPoint Presentation made by the students.
Felicitation of the faculty members was also initiated for the first time at the Institute. Dr Sriram Seshadri, Associate Professor was appreciated for publishing highest number of papers while Dr Nasreen Munshi, Assistant Professor was felicitated for publishing papers in higher impact factor journals. As part of students’ activities two competitions were held. One was debate competition and another was quiz competition which were coordinated by the student association of Institute, INSAA team. Dr Heena Dave, coordinator of the program proposed the vote of thanks.
More than 100 students participated in five different events. Dr Shruti Chatterjee, Co-coordinator of the program announced the names of winners of the events. All the winners received medals and the participants were given participation certificates. She also proposed a vote of thanks for the celebration. The programme ended with the recital of National Anthem.